Professor Dr  Noorsaadah Abd. Rahman

Phone no: +603-7967 4254/4697 Fax no: +603-7967 4193


1990     Cambridge University                              Ph.D.
1985     University of California, Irvine                   M.Sc
1983     California State University                       B.A (Chemistry)


Prof. Dr. Noorsaadah teaches organic chemistry in the department. She also heads projects on drug design and development under the Biopharmacy and the Structural Biology Programs funded by the National Biotechnology Directorate, Ministry of Science, Technology and Innovation. In addition, Prof. Dr. Noorsaadah serves on the international advisory panel to GETRIB – Bioinformatics, Hyderabad, India.




Field of Expertise

  • Organic synthesis and synthetic methods
  • Drug design and modelling

Professional Activities

·         MRSC/CCHEM of the Royal Society of Chemistry (RSC), England

·         Honorary Secretary/Treasurer of the RSC, Malaysia Section.

·         Member of the Malaysian Society of Molecular Biology and Biotechnology.

·         Member of the Malaysia Islamic Science Academy (ASASI).

·         Member, National Council Women Organisation (NCWO) Commission on S&T

·         Member, American Chemical Society (ACS)

·         Member, Chemistry Education in Malaysian University (IKM)

·         Chairman, Training Committee for Malaysia Chemistry Olympiad (MChO)



·         CNRS (France) Fellowship (2001-2002)

·         Fulbright Scholar (2001)

·         The Royal Society Malaysian Fellowship: British High Commissioner’s Chevening Award (1996)

·         JWT Jones Travelling Award, Royal Society of Chemistry, UK (1996)

·         JSPS/VCC Fellowship (1992)

·         The Royal Society of Chemistry, UK Research Grant (1991)


Research Interest

·         Organic synthesis and synthetic methodology, molecular modeling, chemiformatics and drug discovery, organic pollutants in the environment.



general staff
Datuk Dr A. Hamid A. Hadi
Dr Chuah Cheng Hock
Dr Gan Seng Neon
Dr Hapipah Mohd Ali
Dr Kam Toh Seok
Dr Khalijah Awang
Dr Mhd Radzi Abas
Dtao' Dr Mohd Jamil Maah
Dr Mohamad Niyaz Khan
Dr Noorsaadah Abd Rahman
Dr Rauzah Hashim
Dr Tan Guan Huat
Dr Zanariah Abdullah
Associate Professor
Dr Abd. Hamid Yahaya
Dr Azhar Ariffin
Dr Aziz Hassan
Dr Christopher Jesudason
Dr Kamaliah Hj Mahmood
Dr Khoo Siow Kian
Dr Lo Kong Mun
Dr Mat Ropi Mukhtar
Dr Misni Misran
Dr Ng Seik Weng
Dr Noel F. Thomas
Dr Norbani Abdullah
Dr Rashid Atta Khan
Dr Rosiyah Yahya
Dr Sharifah Bee Abd Hamid
Dr Sharifuddin M. Zain
Dr Wan Jeffry Basirun
Dr Yatimah Alias
Dr Zainudin Arifin
Dr Mohamad Noh Daud
Dr Mohd Tahir Abd Rahman
Dr Nor Kartini Abu Bakar
Dr Thorsten Heidelberg
Dr Zaharah Aiyub
Dr Azizah Mainal